These are people who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish, or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products. Lacto-vegetarian is a term sometimes used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products. To answer this question, you should know how many types of vegetarians are. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common kind of vegetarian. In other words, a lacto-vegetarian diet includes all plant-based foods, including fruits, vegetables, grains and beans, as well as dairy products such as milk, cheese, butter, goat cheese, goat's milk and any other products made from these foods such as ice cream.
Ovo vegetarians also eat eggs, but do not include dairy in their diet. Ovo-vegetarians are vegetarians that eat eggs. When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians. This is the vegan philosophy. The lacto-vegetarian diet is a variation of vegetarianism that excludes meat, poultry, seafood, and eggs, but includes dairy products.
The word “lacto” comes from the Latin for milk and “ovo” means egg. Veganism is the most restrictive vegetarian diet and does not allow for any animal products, including eggs, dairy and honey. Many people may have this confusion in their mind for a long time. Lacto-vegetarian: ... suggests that vegetarians do eat eggs, while vegans don’t. If the objection is to the exploitation of animals, then eggs and dairy are generally excluded. In contrast, lacto vegetarians eat dairy products, but not eggs. A lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet is a primarily plant-based diet that excludes meat, fish, and poultry but includes dairy and eggs. In … Vegans do not eat eggs. They don’t eat animal proteins or animal by-products such as eggs, milk, or honey. Do vegetarians eat eggs? Lacto vegetarians eat no animal flesh or eggs, but do eat dairy, vegetables, legumes, fruits, etc.